Planable alternatives: seven tools compared on approvals and price
Planable is built around approval: per-workspace pricing, unlimited users and a required sign-off on Pro. Teams that leave it usually want an inbox, deeper reporting or a cheaper single-brand setup. This guide compares how each alternative's approval step behaves, from each vendor's own help center, with dated prices.
By the overads team. Published . Last checked . All comparisons
TL;DR
- The right Planable alternative depends on why you are leaving: Sprout Social if clients must approve without an account, Loomly for state-by-state approval rules, Agorapulse for an inbox with one-step approval, Buffer or Later for low-cost scheduling, and Hootsuite for an enterprise suite.
- Approval strength differs more than the feature lists suggest. Planable's Required mode and Sprout Social's approval workflows hold an unapproved post; Later publishes a scheduled post at its time whether or not it was approved.
- Planable bills per workspace, not per seat: $39 for Basic and $59 for Pro a month billed monthly, or $33 and $49 billed yearly, as of November 7, 2026. Required approval needs Pro; multi-level approval needs Enterprise.
- overads is an AI marketing agent for small teams. It drafts posts, holds them for a member's approval when the workspace rule is on, and publishes to 7 networks, from $19 a month. It has no client approval link, no multi-level chain and no all-network message inbox.
What are the best Planable alternatives?
The best Planable alternative is the tool that keeps the approval step you rely on and adds what Planable made you pay extra for. Seven tools made this list, each read on its own pricing page and help center on November 7, 2026.
- Sprout Social for teams whose clients approve from an email link, without a login.
- Loomly for agencies that want approval rules a post cannot skip, set per post status.
- Agorapulse for teams that answer a lot of comments and want one-step approval beside the inbox.
- Later for visual brands that want light-touch review on Growth.
- Buffer for small teams that pay per channel and need a simple draft approval.
- Hootsuite for larger organizations that want approvals, an inbox and listening in one suite.
- overads for small teams that want posts drafted for them and held until a teammate approves.
What does Planable do well, and why do teams switch?
Planable does approval well and prices it per client. Its help center lists four approval workflows, None, Optional, Required and Multi-level, set per workspace, so one client can have a strict flow and another a relaxed one. Under Required, no post can be scheduled or published until at least one approver signs off.
Teams switch for three reasons. First, the inbox, analytics and listening are paid add-ons on Basic and Pro: $9, $14 and $99 per workspace a month billed monthly, in Planable’s pricing file. Second, the post caps: Basic allows 60 posts and 4 social pages per workspace a month, Pro 150 posts and 10 pages, and Basic publishes 1 post to X every 24 hours. Third, guests on a share link can view and comment without an account, but the help center does not describe them approving.
How much does Planable cost?
Planable costs $39 per workspace a month for Basic and $59 for Pro, billed monthly, as its plain-text pricing file listed them on November 7, 2026. Billed yearly, the same plans work out to about $32.50 and $49.17 a month; the pricing page shows them rounded as $33 and $49.
Every plan has unlimited users. Enterprise is priced on request and adds multi-level approval, 50 social pages per workspace, unlimited posts and single sign-on. The trial covers 50 posts in total, with no time limit.
How do the alternatives' approval steps compare?
The alternatives differ most on whether an approval actually stops a post. The table sets out what each vendor’s own help center or pricing page said on November 7, 2026.
| Tool | Does an unapproved post publish? | Approver without an account | Multi-step | Plan with approval |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Planable | No under Required; yes under Optional | Comment by link; approval not documented | Enterprise | Optional on Basic, Required on Pro |
| Sprout Social | No: it stays in Needs Approval past its time | Up to 3 external approvers by email, on Advanced | Yes, any or all per step | Professional and Advanced |
| Later | Yes, at its scheduled time, unless saved as a draft | Share for feedback only | Not documented | Growth and up |
| Loomly | Not while a State Guard blocks it | Clients need a Loomly account, no subscription | Original workflow (2+ approvers); State Guards | Starter; custom workflows on Beyond |
| Agorapulse | Not stated on the pricing page | Routes to teammates or clients | Custom plan | Professional and up |
| Buffer | Full Access users can queue any draft | Not documented | Not documented | Team |
| Hootsuite | Not stated on the plans page | Not stated on the plans page | Not stated on the plans page | Advanced and up |
| overads | No, when the workspace rule or the post's own setting holds it | Not in the docs | No, one step | Every plan |
“Not documented” means the page read for this guide did not describe it; it may still exist. For the same question across Planable, Sprout Social, Later, Buffer, Loomly and Hootsuite, with notes on each, see our social media approval workflow comparison.
What would an agency pay with each alternative?
An agency with 3 clients, 4 people and 12 social accounts would pay from $56.25 to $1,596 a month, depending on the tool. The figures below are each vendor’s list price on November 7, 2026, in US dollars before tax, on the lowest plan that includes approval for that team.
| Tool and plan | How it is priced | Monthly cost | Method |
|---|---|---|---|
| Planable Pro | Per workspace, unlimited users | $177 billed monthly; about $147.50 billed yearly | 3 workspaces at $59, or $49.17 |
| Buffer Team | Per channel, unlimited team members | $120 | 12 channels at $10 |
| Later Growth | Per social set and user | $56.25, billed yearly | $37.50 with 2 sets and 2 users, plus 1 set at $11.25 and 2 users at $3.75 |
| Loomly Beyond | Flat, unlimited users, 60 accounts | $332 billed monthly; $249 billed yearly | Starter allows 3 users, and clients count as users |
| Agorapulse Professional | Per user, 10 profiles | $626 billed monthly; $496 billed annually | 4 users at $149 or $119, plus 2 profiles at $15 or $10 |
| Sprout Social Professional | Per seat, unlimited profiles | $1,196, annual billing | 4 seats at $299 |
| Hootsuite Advanced | Per user | Up to $1,596, annual billing | 4 users at up to $399 |
The example assumes one social set or workspace per client and leaves out add-ons, taxes and discounts. A client counts as a user in Loomly; Planable guests on a share link and Sprout Social’s external approvers do not. overads is left out of this table because its plans are not priced per client workspace; its prices are in the section on where it fits.
Is Sprout Social a good Planable alternative?
Sprout Social is the Planable alternative for teams whose clients must approve without a login. Its external approvers article says up to three people outside Sprout can approve, reject or comment from an email link, on the Advanced plan only.
- Does well: approval workflows with several steps, each needing any or all of its approvers, on Professional and Advanced. A post not approved by its time does not publish, and one left 90 days is rejected automatically.
- Limits: per-seat pricing. Its pricing page lists Standard at $199, Professional at $299 and Advanced at $399 per seat a month on annual billing, and Essentials at $79, or $99 billed monthly.
Is Loomly a good Planable alternative?
Loomly is a good Planable alternative for agencies that want approval to be a rule rather than a habit. Its help center lists three approval workflows, Original (2 or more approvers), Lite (approved posts are scheduled automatically) and Zero, plus custom workflows whose State Guards block a post from a status until named users act.
- Does well: approval workflows and roles on Starter, a Client role that does not see drafts, and assignment triggers that route posts to approvers on their own.
- Limits: its pricing page lists Starter at $65 a month, or $49 billed yearly, for 12 social accounts and 3 users, and clients count as users. Custom workflows come with Beyond, at $332 a month, or $249 billed yearly.
Is Agorapulse a good Planable alternative?
Agorapulse is a good Planable alternative for teams that answer a lot of comments and want approval beside the inbox. Its pricing page lists simple approval workflows, which route content to teammates or clients for one-step approval, from Professional, at $119 per user a month billed annually or $149 billed monthly.
- Does well: a social inbox for messages and comments on every plan, and bulk approval from Professional.
- Limits: per-user pricing, 10 social profiles on each self-serve plan with extra profiles at $10 to $15 a month, and multi-step approval only on the Custom plan.
Is Later a good Planable alternative?
Later is a good Planable alternative for visual brands that want light review, not a hard gate. Its help center says scheduled posts publish at their time regardless of approval status, so a post waits only if it is saved as a draft or the author is barred from publishing without approval.
- Does well: a visual planner, a social inbox on Growth, and reviewer roles per access group. Its pricing page lists Growth at $37.50 a month billed yearly, with 2 social sets and 2 users.
- Limits: no collaboration or approval on Starter, none for Instagram Stories, and approvals only on the desktop app.
Are Buffer and Hootsuite good Planable alternatives?
Buffer and Hootsuite sit at opposite ends of the price range, and both keep approval simple next to Planable. Buffer approves drafts on its Team plan; Hootsuite adds content approvals on Advanced.
- Buffer: its help center says users with Needs Approval access request approval on their drafts, and owners and Full Access users approve them or queue any draft directly. Team is $10 per channel a month, or $120 a year, on its pricing page, with unlimited team members.
- Hootsuite: its plans page puts approval workflows and the option to suspend scheduled posts on Advanced, priced up to $399 per user a month on annual billing. Our Hootsuite alternatives guide covers it plan by plan.
Where does overads fit, and what does it not do?
overads is an AI marketing agent for small teams. It fits a small team that wants its posts written for it and held until a teammate approves, not a client-review tool. You describe a job in a sentence; overads drafts the posts in your brand’s voice and publishes them on schedule. Pro is $19 a month and Scale is $49; $15 and $39 a month billed annually. Both start with a 3-day trial: a card is required, nothing is charged during it, and the plan is charged on day 3. Until December 31, 2026, the first year of an annual plan is $99 for Pro or $349 for Scale, then $180 or $468 a year.
overads Publish posts to Instagram, Facebook, LinkedIn, X, Bluesky, Mastodon and Pinterest. Owners and admins can switch on Require approval in Settings, Rules, which holds every scheduled post, from the app, the API, the assistant or a workflow, until a member approves it; a single post can also ask for approval on its own. The scheduling and approvals guide describes the rule. The rule is off until someone switches it on.
What overads does not do, compared with Planable and most tools above:
- Its published docs describe no approval link for clients or anyone outside the workspace. If clients must approve, Sprout Social, Planable or Loomly fit better.
- It has one approval step, with no multi-level chain.
- It has no all-network inbox and no social listening. Facebook and Instagram comments can be answered from overads, with a person approving each reply, once Meta grants the comment permission; direct messages stay in each network’s own app.
- It does not post to Threads, YouTube and TikTok yet. Those are built and wait on each platform’s review.
- Meta and Google ad changes run after you approve them; X and Snapchat connect read-only, so overads proposes and a person applies.
Why a person stays in charge of what an AI drafts is the subject of our guide to human-in-the-loop AI marketing.
How do you choose a Planable alternative?
Choose a Planable alternative by deciding first who approves and how hard the gate must be. Then price only the tools that meet those two answers for your real team.
- Decide whether clients approve, and whether they will accept a login.
- Decide whether an unapproved post must never publish, or whether review is advice.
- Count clients, people and social accounts, because pricing follows one of the three.
- List the add-ons you pay Planable for today, such as the inbox, and check each tool includes them.
- Run one client’s real month through the trial before moving the rest.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Planable cost?
Planable's pricing file lists Basic at $39 and Pro at $59 per workspace a month billed monthly, or about $32.50 and $49.17 a month billed yearly. Enterprise is priced on request, and the analytics, inbox and listening add-ons cost $14, $9 and $99 per workspace a month.
Can you try Planable before paying?
Yes. Planable's trial covers 50 posts in total with no time limit and without a card. The 50 posts do not reset, and X publishing is not available during the trial.
Which Planable alternative lets a client approve without an account?
Of the tools on this page, Sprout Social documents it: on Advanced, up to three external approvers approve or reject posts from an email link. Planable and Later share links let outsiders comment, and Loomly clients need a Loomly account, though not a subscription.
Is Planable cheaper than Sprout Social for an agency?
For most agencies, yes, because Planable charges per workspace and Sprout Social per seat. In the worked example on this page, with 3 clients and 4 people, Planable Pro costs $177 a month billed monthly and Sprout Social Professional $1,196 a month on annual billing.
Sources
- Planable pricing. Planable. Accessed Nov 7, 2026.
- Planable Pricing (plain-text pricing file). Planable. Accessed Nov 7, 2026.
- Approvals and Approval Workflows. Planable Help Center. Accessed Nov 7, 2026.
- Share content with external collaborators. Planable Help Center. Accessed Nov 7, 2026.
- Sprout Social Pricing. Sprout Social. Accessed Nov 7, 2026.
- Message Approval Workflows. Sprout Social Support. Accessed Nov 7, 2026.
- How do I enable the External Approvers workflow?. Sprout Social Support. Accessed Nov 7, 2026.
- Later Pricing Plans. Later. Accessed Nov 7, 2026.
- Team Collaboration and Content Approvals. Later Help Center. Accessed Nov 7, 2026.
- Loomly Pricing & Plans. Loomly. Accessed Nov 7, 2026.
- What are collaboration workflows?. Loomly Help Center. Accessed Nov 7, 2026.
- Collaborating with your team and clients. Loomly Help Center. Accessed Nov 7, 2026.
- Agorapulse Pricing. Agorapulse. Accessed Nov 7, 2026.
- Pricing. Buffer. Accessed Nov 7, 2026.
- Managing and approving draft posts. Buffer Help Center. Accessed Nov 7, 2026.
- Hootsuite Plans, Prices, and Features. Hootsuite. Accessed Nov 7, 2026.
- Scheduling and approvals. overads. Accessed Nov 7, 2026.
- Posting to several networks. overads. Accessed Nov 7, 2026.
Competitor details on this page come only from each company’s own pages, read on the date shown in Sources. Prices and features change; if one has moved, email hello@overads.io and we will correct it.
Drafted with AI assistance, then checked against primary sources and the product itself by the overads team.
